Aylesford Interactive Map - Click on one of the locations below - Zoom bar for fine tuning

  • Aylesford

    3 miles NE of Maidstone off A20. There is a record of a bridge spanning the Medway at Aylesford in 1287. In the 14th century this was replaced by the Kentish flagstone bridge that serves today. The view from this bridge is one of the best there is of the picturesque brick and half timbered, steeply gabled cottages. The river once powered the paper mill that has operated here since the turn of the century. In AD 455 the Britons were defeated in battle by Jutish invaders, and in AD 893 the Danes were seen off by King Alfred, while in 918 BC Edmund Ironside routed Canute and the Vikings. Later, the Carmelites came to England and founded their first Friary in this country at Aylesford in 1240.
    It is said that Aylesford is one of the oldest continually occupied sites in England. The actress Dame Sybil Thorndike's father was vicar of Aylesford and he gave her away in the church when she was married there in December 1908 by the Bishop of Rochester and her uncle the Bishop of Thetford. Her mother played the organ during the ceremony. Dame Sybil's last visit to the village was in 1972 when, at the age of 90, she opened the new village community centre.
  • The Friars

    The Friars

More Info

(JavaScript must be enabled)

Aylesford Home
About Us
Kentpoi is a free resource.
We seek to offer our visitors something entertaining, interesting and relevant every time they visit this website.

We are constantly updating the content of this website based on the feedback from our audience.

Advertise on this website?

Target Specific Advertising

Terms & Conditions

Terms & Conditions

Privacy Policy

Privacy Policy

Contact
Our Friends
Stacks Image 6363

Kentculture - Promoting Talent
Kentculture

Stacks Image 6367

Website designed and maintained by Themeweavers

Kent Tourism Brochures
Kent Interactive Maps
Kent Towns & Villages